My first year as a school librarian: the outstanding and the overdue!

In our first guest post of the summer, Olivia shares her experiences of being a new school librarian, including her passion for creating inclusive library spaces where all young people can feel seen and supported.


From a very young age I have been passionate about books and have always enjoyed visiting libraries. During secondary school, I got my first taste of life on the other side whilst completing my work experience placement in a library. Books have always been in my life and I am a huge champion of libraries for multiple reasons. They are invaluable spaces to many and help bridge cultural and economic gaps. This passion is what led me into the profession. After many years in retail, I fancied a change, so decided to embark on Secondary English Teacher Training. After some ups and some downs, I didn’t end up completing my training but the experiences I had and the lessons learned are what led me to what I can confidently say is the best job I have had so far!

I really enjoy my role as a high school librarian. It is rewarding, enriching and varied. When I was appointed, it had been quite a while since the school had had a full-time librarian, so I was able to build the library from the ground up. I have been able to use my creativity to create a place that is central (literally in my school’s case!) to the school experience and a place that students enjoy visiting and it is a space myself and the school can hopefully feel proud of. During my first year I have created multiple eye-catching and purposeful displays, had the pleasure of selecting quality and varied stock from ELS, and embedded myself into the school community through completing various other tasks, such as supporting with phonics interventions for Year 7.

Some highlights this year have been getting to know some absolutely delightful students and being able to offer them support and book recommendations, working with the phenomenal English team, and organising Book Buzz. Seeing the Year 7s excitement about books really was a special moment. Some downsides to the role are chasing up the overdues (any time I receive a return is a small miracle!) and some behavioural issues that have been quite the learning curve, however I feel well supported and have felt able to rise to the challenges.

One of my objectives for my library, and something that I was passionate about in my interview, was making sure I create an inclusive place for all, for example, the LGBT+ community. As someone living in today’s society, I feel as though it is important to be educated on this topic and be respectful and ready to learn, as many young people may be struggling. I have always wanted the library to be a space that anyone can feel included, no matter who they are. I have a wide range of LGBT+ books on my shelves and have created a display to celebrate Pride month, which I intend to keep up until the end of term. Some of my favourite LGBT+ reads include Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green, The Black Flamingo by Dean Atta and Red, White and Royal Blue by Casey McQuiston. Ones I hope to read soon include CSBA runner-up Gay Club! by Simon James Green, Ophelia Ever After by Raquel Marie and They Both Die in the End by Adam Silvera.


Olivia A is a secondary school librarian in Cheshire.

If you would like to share your experiences of school library life – the good, the bad and the frustrating – please contact Samantha at samantha.lockett@cheshiresharedservices.gov.uk.

Leave a comment